Header Background

CMS Hosts NCAA Men's Tennis Championships, May 19-24

CMS Hosts NCAA Men's Tennis Championships, May 19-24

Claremont-Mudd-Scripps hosts the NCAA Division III Men's Tennis Championships in Claremont from Tuesday, May 19th through Sunday, May 24th at the new Biszantz Family Tennis Center at CMC.  Amherst College, UC Santa Cruz, Emory University, Gustavus Adolphus College, Kenyon College, Middlebury College, Washington University (St. Louis) and Williams College will compete in the team portion of the tournament and 32 singles players and 16 doubles teams will compete in the individual portion.

CMS hosted its first men's NCAA championships at the Marks and Smith Courts in 1980, then again in 1986, 1991, and 1999. This year's NCAA Division III championships will celebrate the grand opening of the Biszantz Family Tennis Center, a state-of-the-art facility for all of intercollegiate tennis.  The Biszantz Family Tennis Center is located at Sixth Street and
Brooks Avenue, the new tennis center offers locker rooms, offices, 12 lighted Plexipave tennis courts--all with permanent seating--plus a clubhouse, observation deck, and recreation/practice field adjacent to the facility.

The Championships begin on Tuesday, May 19th for team play competing for the Division III National Championships while the top 32 singles players and top 16 doubles teams will compete for the individual national championships beginning on Friday, May 22nd.

Even though CMS has had a history of hosting the NCAA, this is the first year that the championships was student-run. The Event Management crew consists of 8 students: Christian Aparicio, Stephanie Goldberger, Andrew Hess, Alle Hsu, Ryan Larsen, Jen Rosenthal, Meghan Stenger and Ching Tung.  The student team has helped in launching a website for the championships among other responsibilities. For complete coverage of the 2009 NCAA Division III Men¹s Tennis Championships, visit the NCAA
dedicated site at: http://www.cmsathletics.com/tournament/tennis/index.