Wood Wins ITA National Rookie of the Year Award

Wood Wins ITA National Rookie of the Year Award

Warren Wood (Fr. - Del Mar, CA [pictured right]) became the first player in CMS Stags Tennis history to be named the ITA National Rookie of the Year. Wood, who played #1 singles and #1 doubles for CMS during most of the 2012 season, was presented the award at the NCAA Division III Tennis banquet in Cary, N.C. on Wednesday night.

Wood, who begins play in the NCAA Division III singles championships on Thursday in Cary, N.C., was one of four regional Rookie of the Year award winners. Wood was the West Region winner, along with Alec Hoblitzell of Skidmore in the Northeast Region, Michael Razumovsky of Kenyon in the Central Region, and Tanner Brown of Johns Hopkins in the Atlantic South Region.

Wood is currently 20-10 in singles overall, and 10-6 against ranked opponents. He is 9-2 and 10-4 against conference and regional opponents respectively. In doubles, he is 22-11 overall, having played with both Alex Lane (Jr. - Claremont, CA) and Nik Marino (Fr. - San Diego, CA) at the top two positions.

Prior to Wood winning the regional and national Rookie of the Year honors this week, Larry Wang (CMC '09) was the last regional award winner in 2006.

ITA Award Winners Press Release