Four Athenas Selected To IWLCA Academic Honor Roll

Four Athenas Selected To IWLCA Academic Honor Roll

GRAND LAKE, Colo. – Four Claremont-Mudd-Scripps women's lacrosse players have been selected to the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) NCAA Division III Academic Honor Roll for the 2013 season. Attacker Rachel Darby, midfielder Leslie Sachs, attacker Anthea Weixel and midfielder Kyra Ray were all selected. The IWLCA honored 382 student-athletes from 67 different institutions with inclusion in the 2013 IWLCA Division III Academic Honor Roll.

Darby, a psychology and legal studies major scored 27 goals in 18 games as a senior for the Athenas. Sachs, a politics and psychology studies major, played in five games including four starts during her junior campaign for CMS. Weixel, an economics and international relations major, played in 18 games as a junior including 12 starts and scored 15 goals and added three assists. Ray, a biology major, played in 13 games including 10 starts.

On the field, the Athenas went 8-10 in 2013 including a 4-7 conference record. The season concluded with a 13-12, triple overtime loss at Pomona-Pitzer in the opening round of the SCIAC Championships.

The IWLCA is a membership-led nonprofit association representing the nation's intercollegiate women's lacrosse coaches within Division I, II & III of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA). The IWLCA is a 501c Non-Profit educational organization.

Become a fan of CMS Athletics on Facebook: AthleticsCMS
Follows CMS Athletics on Twitter: @AthleticsCMS
CMS Athletics on Instagram: cmsathletics
Watch CMS Athletics videos on YouTube: ClaremontMuddScripps