Header Background

Women's Swimming & Diving


Athenas Win Ninth Straight Title

Athenas Win Ninth Straight Title

CMS finished first at the 2011 SCIAC Swimming & Diving Championships at Long Beach and won their ninth straight and 13th overall title. CMS scored 1072.5 points followed by Redlands (695), Occidental (459.5), Pomona-Pitzer (407.5), Whittier (265.5), Cal Lutheran (244), La Verne (161) and Caltech (146).  The Athenas finished with seven individual wins and won all five relays.  Michele Kee, winner of three individual events and the anchor on four winning relays, was named SCIAC Swimmer of the Year.

Winners on the final day included Kee in the 100 Freestyle, Tessa Dover in the 200 Backstroke and the team of Jenni Rinker, Helen Liu, Emma Jones and Kee in the 400 Free Relay.  The relay set the CMS and SCIAC record with a time of 3:27.43 and Kee set the CMS record in the 100 Free (51.77)

Second place finishers for CMS included Carliann Brashier in the 1650 Freestyle, Rinker in the 200 Backstroke, Jones in the 100 Freestyle and Annika Jessen in the 200 Butterfly. Jessen set the CMS record with a time of 2:06.37.

NCAA 'A' qualifying marks were achieved by Dover in the 200 Back and by the 400 Free Relay.  NCAA 'B' qualifying marks were achieved by Brashier in the 1650 Free, Rinker and Elsa Cheng in the 200 Back, Jessen in the 200 Fly and Kee and Jones and in the 100 Free.